Formative Assessment

CNCing Preparations

  1. While CADing, remember the over cut rule. Circular cutter but square hole.
  2. In Rhino 3D add a rectangle sized to the material cutting into, for example; 1220mm/2440mm for a full sized sheet of ply. Then use this rectangle to arrange the pieces.
  3. When arranging, Think about which side the shipping details will be printed and out that will relate to which side will be showing or hidden.
  4. make sure the lines are appropriately joined or grouped.
  5. Export as .ai, open in illustrator and check for any errors, like missing lines or lines not joined properly.
  6. Check for correct size (rhino sometimes does not exports properly).
  7. If size in incorrect. make new .ai file and set the document to the correct size (millimetres). Then import the drawings from the old .ai file.
  8. If not already, change to landscape orientation. Object/Transform/Rotation.
  9. Remove the outer shape (rectangle), used for sizing and arranging.
  10. Export as .dxf or save as .ai

Although I was ready and confident to go-ahead. it was highly suggested by three people that I laser cut a mock construction first to make sure it all fits together.

The mock construction was a bit loose and fiddly but otherwise fine. I am confident that once the file is CNCed it will tighten up. this is partly the reason i don’t over cut, because it makes the joins tighter when pushed together.

kjhlb
The arrangement over three boards

Given that OSB can be sharp, I sanded the surfaces and used a pressure hose to clean away any dust.

In the rush of getting things together for the assessment I haven’t recorded an assembly video for the final shelving unit. however, I did get some images of the unit fully constructed.

Cost Breakdown (estimation)

OSB boards x3: £11

CNC Machine [£40=hour]: £160

Sanding Pad: £4

Total: £175

Evaluation of Project

In the questionnaire I filled out at the beginning of the year. I was very weak on answering who is your audience/user? & how do you access them? I think I have improved those answers over the course of this project, thanks partly to the social media and marketing events I went to.

The production design method of creating was alien to me. I have found it very difficult to adopt a user focused design process. I recognize my failure to reach out to target groups like landlords, estate agents, furniture design companies and student organisations. I understand this in important and I will try to undertake this while also managing the work load from the next module.

The initial part of this project, where I was supposed to produce potential ideas, was badly recorded and unorganized. I should have utilised mind maps more, especially as I know they help me record ideas. Creating a mind map will be at the top of my list when the next term starts.

The group critiques (summer project presentation & pitch) were influential, they have steered my practice towards a more considerable place.  Peer feedback is an effective method of testing my communication skills.

The Monday morning seminar series has provided an alternative perception to creative works. The provocative discussions have been both enjoyable and cemented my position in formalism.

The adoption of time-lapse has been an interesting development that makes good use of my new founded YouTube channel. I find this to be a very useful tool as it can give an insight into my practice for viewers. I would have liked to record the designing process while the CAD files were being created. However, there is no screen recording software on the computers.

Statement of Intent

In various tutorials and interactions talk has turned to the post-grad world. A frequent topic discussed are the different business models and Start-up companies possible in the creative industry. Although, these conversations are insightful and are in good preparation. My design practice is not yet stable enough to be exposed to the wide world. I believe I would benefit greatly by a post-grad assistance programme, allowing me access to the vital components of a design practice. Components such as academic material in the library and the tools and equipment in the workshops. The next step forward is to start preparing an application for inc space.

I have not yet thought about post inc space. However, even at this point I am getting a better idea of how my practice functions. For example, my practice is heavily involved with CAD and CNCing. Therefore whatever the move is after inc space, those facilities will need to be available.

In terms of the trajectory of my work. I am aiming to use the metal press to shape sheets of aluminium into a “push, click” furniture fixing system. There is the potential for a stronger move towards modular furniture. Given the unique selling point of the “push, click” system, the ease of assembly and disassembly, I think forms such as; storage units, bed frames, desks, tables and chairs will be well suited to this system. Rather than sofas or kitchens units.

It is most likely that I will keep using OSB. However, I am unsure if I should treat the surface with some kind of oil or paint. As I am aiming for low cost approach, and by adding this type of process will raise the cost and the ascetic will change to a higher end item.

Although, I am interested in doing a masters. I don’t think I’m ready to undertake such a heavy research project at this point, and some industry experience would be beneficial.

 

Leave a Reply

